WW1 Centenary Family Fun Day

On Saturday 13th October, Leighton Academy hosted a family fun day to commemorate 100 years since the end of World War 1 in partnership with Minshull Vernon Parish Council. The event was opened with a ceremony led by the Royal British Legion with military attendance. This was followed by performances from Gilly Songbird and the Funky Choir who went back down memory lane and sung songs from this period. We were treated to a sample of traditional trench stew, cooked up by our very own Mrs Goodwin from the kitchen. Families could dress up in WW1 costumes and be photographed using our green screen technology. Younger children watched a traditonal Punch and Judy and Magician's show and then children from Leighton Academy and Mablin's Lane performed in the choir, drama and dance groups. 

Thank you to all staff and families who supported in making the event a success and well done to Miss Sharp, our History Subject Leader for organising such a fantastic day.

​​​​​​

Contact the School

Leighton Academy

Principal - Mrs Joanna Young
Deputy - Mrs Samantha Thompson
Leighton Academy
Minshull New Road, Crewe
CW1 3PP

Principal email address -
principal@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Deputy email address -
deputy@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Contacts for Information -
Mrs T German - Business Manager
Miss J Morris - Bursar
Mrs H Holding - Admin Officer
Mrs D O'Reilly - Admin Assistant

Senco -
Mr N Jones -
jonesn@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk
Mrs L Schofield -
schofieldl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Pastoral & Welfare Manager -
Miss Z Dyer - dyerz@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Tel: 01270 814016
admin@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk