Swimming

Leighton Academy now use the new ASA School Swimming Charter for all school swimming lessons. Please find attached a copy of the award system which also details the requirements for each level.

Please do not worry if your child has private swimming lessons away from school, we assess each child at the beginning of their sessions to ensure they are working towards the correct award, and the awards do not follow the same criteria as swimming levels.

At the end of Year 6, all children are expected to meet the national standard of 25 metres and this must be reported by the school. All children will leave with a school swimming passport to show they have met the expected curriculum criteria for the awards they have achieved.

Children at Leighton Academy will have a 6 week block of swimming lessons each year from year 2 - year 6 at Nantiwich Pool. All children are expected to attend swimming lessons with school unless there is a written medical exemption letter from the GP or hospital as this is a national requirement. Swimming is heavily subsidised by the academy but parents are asked to contribute £3.00 per session.

Sessions will be as follows (exact dates to be confirmed and communicated to parents nearer the time):

Autumn 1 - Year 6 

Autumn 2 - Year 4 

Spring 1 - Year 5

Spring 2 - Year 3

Summer 1 - Year 2 

Summer 2 - Top up swimmer (selected children from Y5 and 6)

 

For more information, please see the parents' guide below.

Files to Download

Contact the School

Leighton Academy

Principal - Mrs Joanna Young
Deputy - Mrs Samantha Thompson
Leighton Academy
Minshull New Road, Crewe
CW1 3PP

Principal email address -
principal@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Deputy email address -
deputy@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Contacts for Information -
Mrs T German - Business Manager
Miss J Morris - Bursar
Mrs H Holding - Admin Officer
Mrs D O'Reilly - Admin Assistant

Senco -
Mr N Jones -
jonesn@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk
Mrs L Schofield -
schofieldl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Pastoral & Welfare Manager -
Miss Z Dyer - dyerz@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Tel: 01270 814016
admin@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk