Attendance/Absence

Absence from School

If your child is absent from school you must notify the academy for each day of absence, either by phone, (01270) 814016 or via email. 

If you need to discuss your child's absence or have any concerns about their attendance, please contact school and speak to Miss Dyer or Mrs O'Reilly.

Please find attached some helpful documents including our Attendance & Punctuality Policy and some helpful guidance from Cheshire East Education Welfare Team.

Application for Leave in Exceptional Circumstances - Leave of Absence in Term Time

Amendments to the 2006 regulations remove references to family holiday and extended leave as well as the statutory threshold of ten school days. The amendments make it clear that the principal may not grant any leave of absence during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances. The principal should determine the number of school days a child can be away from school if the leave is granted.

In order for consideration to be given, requests for absence must be requested, in writing, for exceptional circumstances only and will be granted at the discretion of the principal.

 

       

Files to Download

Contact the School

Leighton Academy

Principal - Mrs Joanna Young
Deputy - Mrs Samantha Thompson
Leighton Academy
Minshull New Road, Crewe
CW1 3PP

Principal email address -
principal@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Deputy email address -
deputy@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Contacts for Information -
Mrs T German - Business Manager
Miss J Morris - Bursar
Mrs H Holding - Admin Officer
Mrs D O'Reilly - Admin Assistant

Senco -
Mr N Jones -
jonesn@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk
Mrs L Schofield -
schofieldl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Pastoral & Welfare Manager -
Miss Z Dyer - dyerz@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Tel: 01270 814016
admin@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk