Class 5S 2017 - 2018

Mrs Schofield

Mrs Schofield

Welcome to Class 5S!

Your Year 5 team is Mrs Schofield, Miss Moseley and Miss Abrams.

We are pleased to announce that William has been elected as our class councillor and Rawaan is the new deputy. Congratulations to you both!

This half term the children will need their PE kits on a Tuesday and Friday for their PE sessions. 

Homework

Year 5 homework will be given out on Mondays and reviewed on Fridays.  Children will need to learn their spellings and focus times tables, have five entries in his/her reading journal, and earn a Mathletics certificate.

Spelling tests (7 spellings only to encourage deeper learning) and times table tests are done on a Friday.  Try to complete 12 x 12 grids regularly.  We really need the children to enter Year 6 knowing all their times tables facts (multiplication and division) and number bonds instantly.

Try this links to help with times tables

Please make sure that your child reads for at least 30 mins five evenings each week and makes a note of it in their reading journal, either at home or in school in the morning.  Also, it would be great if you had some time to discuss and share the book with your child.  We are really trying to promote reading for enjoyment and pleasure.  A record will be kept of the reading completed by your child and rewards can be earned.

Have a look in the files below at the year 3/4 and 5/6 spellings. 

What are we learning?

This Summer half term, some of our topics are:

Literacy - Losing time tales and Newspaper reports

History - Maya

Geography - Mountains and regions of the UK 

Science - Space

Computing - 3D modelling

R.E. - How do Christains find peace in God?

P.S.H.C.E. - KiVa and SRE

German - 

Music - Rounds

Art - Peter Thorpe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacting the team

schofieldl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

moseleyl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

abramss@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk


 


 


 

 

Files to Download

Class 5S: News items

There are no News items to display

Class 5S: Blog items

There are no blog items to display

Class 5S: Gallery items

There are no Gallery items to display

Contact the School

Leighton Academy

Principal - Mrs Joanna Young
Deputy - Mrs Samantha Thompson
Leighton Academy
Minshull New Road, Crewe
CW1 3PP

Principal email address -
principal@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Deputy email address -
deputy@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Contacts for Information -
Mrs T German - Business Manager
Miss J Morris - Bursar
Mrs H Holding - Admin Officer
Mrs D O'Reilly - Admin Assistant

Senco -
Mr N Jones -
jonesn@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk
Mrs L Schofield -
schofieldl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Tel: 01270 685185
admin@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk