Class 5E 2018 - 2019

Mr Emes

Mr Emes

Welcome to Year 5E (Autumn Term)

Your Year 5 team is Mr Emes and Mrs Smith, along with Mrs McDonough.

Your Class Councillor is Eeshana Amit Naik

Vice Class Councillor is Lily Speake

Sports Councillors are Carol-Ann Rogerson and Ky Bratherton

 

Homework

Year 5 homework : a Mathletics certificate , at least 50-100 pages of reading each week and five weekly spellings.

Spellings, vocabulary and ideas for writing will all be improved if children can meet the Government recommendation of one reading book per week.

Please make sure that your child reads for at least 30 mins five evenings each week and makes a note of it in their reading journal, either at home or in school in the morning.  Also, it would be great if you had some time to discuss and share the book with your child.  We are really trying to promote reading for enjoyment and pleasure.  A record will be kept of the reading completed by your child and rewards can be earned.

Check out the file at the bottom of the page for recommended books and authors

 

Check out the Years 3/4 and Years 5/6 spellings lists below:

Web links for the statutory spelling lists:

Statutory Spelling list for Years 5 and 6

Statutory Spelling list for Years 3 and 4 

 

P.E.

P.E. kits are to be brought to school every Monday and left in school until Friday.

Gymnastics: Thursday A.M.

CoJo: Friday P.M.

 

What are we learning?

This autumn term, these are some of our topics:

Literacy - 'Talk For Writing' pieces covering playscripts.

Maths - Angles; Transformations;

History - The Battle of Britain; Remembrance Day/World War II; 

Geography: North America

Science - Properties and Changes in Materials

Computing - Internet Safety

R.E. - What do Christians think about the Kingdom of God?

Personal Development - KiVa; Anti-Bullying Week; P4C - History Focus

German - Illnesses and how I am feeling; St Martin; Advent; Nikolaus; Extended and developed Christmas activities 

P.E. - Gymnastics; CoJo

Music - Connect it - Anna Meredith

Art - North American artists: Jackson Pollock

D.T. - Textiles: Seasonal Stockings

 

Contacting the team

emesg@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

smithb@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

 

 

 

Files to Download

Class 5E: News items

There are no News items to display

Class 5E: Blog items

There are no blog items to display

Class 5E: Gallery items

There are no Gallery items to display

Contact the School

Leighton Academy

Principal - Mrs Joanna Young
Deputy - Mrs Samantha Thompson
Leighton Academy
Minshull New Road, Crewe
CW1 3PP

Principal email address -
principal@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Deputy email address -
deputy@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Contacts for Information -
Mrs T German - Business Manager
Miss J Morris - Bursar
Mrs H Holding - Admin Officer
Mrs D O'Reilly - Admin Assistant

Senco -
Mr N Jones -
jonesn@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk
Mrs L Schofield -
schofieldl@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Pastoral & Welfare Manager -
Miss Z Dyer - dyerz@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk

Tel: 01270 814016
admin@leighton.cheshire.sch.uk